Posted by: rcwriter | February 24, 2008

Delia Latham and Goldeneyes


GOLDENEYES

Publisher: Vintage Romance Publishing

Release Date: March 30, 2008
Today is the day. It’s time to talk to Delia Latham about her upcoming release, Goldeneyes. First, here’s a great teaser:

A man’s eyes are the windows to his soul … if he has one.

Deep in the darkness of a Depression-era night, a man addicted to alcohol commits an unspeakable crime to obtain it. His vile action impacts the lives of two entire families, and over two decades will pass before the horrible wrong begins to be made right again.

Two young women – strangers to each other – unknowingly enmeshed in a Pandora’s Box of secrets that could prevent them from finding happiness with the men they love. Two adoring mothers who know more than they are willing to say. A newsman with a story he cannot tell. What is their connection, and who is the golden-eyed stranger who moves in the shadows of their broken lives?

I haven’t had the opportunity to read this novel, but I can’t wait to get my hands on it. Sounds like a read for me (and my book review page). If you’d like to read an excerpt, then check out my live space or freewebs page. I’ll post it along with other parts of her interview. There’s just too much info for one site.

And the good stuff just doesn’t stop! Delia will be giving away a Goldeneyes T-shirt and an electronic copy of the book to a special reader. She’ll choose a winner from all who leave comments, so be sure to leave a note on at least one of the pages you visit.

Now, here’s a bit about Delia Latham.

Q. Who is Delia Latham?

A: I’m a Christian wife, married to a Pentecostal minister. My husband is the assistant pastor at our church, and I’m involved in the music ministry. I play piano and sing. I have four grown children and four beautiful, absolutely perfect granchildren – no, really, they are! We all live in Bakersfield, California. I was born here and have resided in or around this desert town my entire life.

Q: What inspired you to write Goldeneyes?

A: I grew up in Weedpatch, the little farming community where Part One of Goldeneyes is set. I’ve always wanted to write something using that location as a backdrop. This story has been brewing in my mind for several years, but it was hard for me to get past the reality of Weedpatch in my own life and get on with turning it into a fictional tale. I prayed a lot! Once God gave me the go-ahead, He also gave me the inspiration, and I’m very pleased with the completed product.

Q: Where do you get your ideas?

A: Ahhh … the question every writer gets asked most often – and for me, quite possibly the hardest, because I’m not always sure. Sometimes I get ideas from little snippets of history; a few of my stories are major exaggerations of tiny occurrences in my own life or the lives of people I know; and sometimes I sit down to write with absolutely no idea what I’m going to write about. Oddly enough, those are the times I usually wind up being happiest with the results, maybe because I’m most open for God to take my writing wherever He wants to.

Q: So you don’t always plot or outline your book before you write?

A: How’d you guess? No, I write like I do most other things in my life – totally off the cuff. I’m what the writing community refers to as a SOTP: Seat-of-the-pants writer.

To find out what Delia likes to read or to read her excerpt, then check out my livespace page. Don’t forget to leave a comment here first.

A special thanks to Delia for allowing us a sneak peek inside her new novel.

Here’s a list of the rest of her tour.

Feb. 25 – Rhonda Clark –www.freewebs.com/rhondaclark

15. Feb. 26 – Cindy Bauer – www.cindybauer.blogspot.com (Guest Blog)
16. Feb. 28 – Julie Kornhausl – www.simplyromancereviews.com
17. Mar. 2 – Mary Connealy – www.mconnealy.blogspot.com
18. Mar. 4 – Dee Owen – www.marjo-mumswritings.blogspot.com
19. Mar. 5 – Tabitha Robin – www.tabitha-robin.com
20. Mar. 7 – Tori Close – www.toriclose.com
21. Mar. 10 – Jennifer Hudson Taylor – www.jenniferswriting.blogspot.com
22. Mar. 12 – Debra Ullrick – http://www.christianromancewriter.blogspot.com/
23. Mar. 17 – Miralee Ferrell – www.miraleesdesk.blogspot.com
24. Mar. 19 – Bonnie Winters – http://360.yahoo.com/indianabon
25. Mar. 20 – Cynthia Hickey – http://www.cynthiahickey.blogspot.com
26. Mar. 24 – Pamela James – www.pammer.blogspot.com
27. Mar. 24 – 28 – Tracy Ruckman – www.pixnpens.blogspot.com
28. Mar. 25 – Christa Allen – http://cballan.wordpress.com/
29. Mar. 27 – Melissa Meeks – http://forstrose.blogspot.com/
30. Mar. 31 – Gina Conroy – http://portraitofawriter.ginaconroy.com
31. April 20 – Marian Merritt – http://www.marianmerritt.com
32. April 27 – Margaret Daley – www.margaretdaley.blogspot.com
33. Throughout February and March – David G. Boggs – http://www.freewebs.com/davidgboggs/delialathamsnewbook.htm

Visit Delia’s website: www.delialatham.com

Her blog: www.themelodywithin.blogspot.com

Responses

  1. Rhonda … I don’t know how I did it, but I think I missed this post the “day of.” Thank you so much for hosting me!


Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Nike N. Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista

Literature that reads like pulp fiction.

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

