Posted by: rcwriter | August 21, 2008

Romancing Hollywood Nobody–My Review


Don’t forget to leave a comment, you’ll be entered for a chance to win this book.

Romancing Hollywood Nobody (Book 3, Hollywood Series)
By: Lisa Samson
NavPress-2008

 

There’s no better word to describe Romancing Hollywood Nobody than fun. Mrs. Samson’s characters are, for lack of a better term, characters. Scotty is a 16 year-old with stars in her eyes, and an obsession with Hollywood. She’s pretty much like most teens, except for the fact she lives in a travel trailer crossing the US with her dad and maternal grandmother. If that’s not off beat enough for you, her grandmother is a vegetarian ex-hippie that is a food stylist for the film industry, which on occasion calls for cooking meat. Her father is and ex-FBI man who’s searching for Scotty’s mother who may or may not be alive. Oh, and did I mention they are all living under assumed identities handed out by the Witness Protection Program?

Combine all this with the beautiful North Carolina mountains, a first love for Scotty, and two opposite, yet wonderful, men vying for the attention of Scotty’s grandmother (one’s a Scotsman who I envision as a Sean Connery type), and a hectic movie set you’ve got one great story.

“I’m just sayin.”

I did enjoy the book. It’s a short, easy read that is a great rainy day distraction. My only disappointment was not reading the first two in the series. Romancing Hollywood Nobody was a bit tough for me to get into because I didn’t have the background in the previous books. So, your best bet is to read them in order so you aren’t lost.

Overall, this was a fun read. I enjoyed watching Scotty growing up and maturing with every page. I wish there would be another in the series. I’d love to know what happened to her mother (hint, hint).

Favs (without spoilers):

Character: Can’t think of just one

Part: The grandmother and her beaus

Let downs:

Character: None. All stood on the same level

Part: Not having the background from previous books

Let downs:

Character: None. All stood on the same level

Part: Not having the background from previous books

 

For more information on Lisa Samson or her novels, visit her website

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

