Posted by: rcwriter | September 7, 2008

September Featured Author


And here’s something else that’s new on Beach Reads: Author of the Month.

 

Every month, I’ll feature an author and their latest work, and as a special bonus, I’ll be giving away the featured work. There may be other giveaways, too.

 

This month I’m featuring Shelley Adina. She’s the author of the “It’s All About Us” Series. I’ll be reviewing Books 1 & 2–It’s All About Us, and The Fruit of My Lipstick. There will also be a sneak peek at Book 3, Be Strong and Curvaceous.

Especially for my friends who leave comments, you’ll be entered in the drawing for a set of Book 1 & 2. You’ll get both It’s All About Us, and The Fruit of My Lipstick. To increase your chances of winning this combo, leave a comment on every post about Shelley Adina–including this one. J

 

Today, I want you to get to know Ms. Adina better. Here’s her biography, and links to. Be sure and check back soon for the interview.

 

Award-winning author Shelley Adina wrote her first teen novel when she was 13. It was rejected by the literary publisher to whom she sent it, but he did say she knew how to tell a story. That was enough to keep her going through the rest of her adolescence, a career, a move to another country, a B.A. in Literature, an M.A. in Writing Popular Fiction, and countless manuscript pages.

Shelley is a world traveler and pop culture junkie with an incurable addiction to designer handbags. She knows the value of a relationship with a gracious God and loving Christian friends and writes books about fun and faith—with a side of glamour. Between books, Shelley loves traveling, playing the piano and Celtic harp, movies, and period costuming.

Some of her favorite authors include Robin Jones Gunn, Troon Harrison, Kristin Billerbeck, Brandilyn Collins, Camy Tang, Elizabeth George, and Rosamunde Pilcher. As a child, she loved books by British author Elizabeth Goudge, and she’s the proud owner of a complete collection of first editions by the immortal Lucy Maud Montgomery.

Shelley Adina website

A cool place to find out more about All About Us

Responses

  1. I love Shelley’s writing, and I know I’ll love these books! Please enter me in the drawing. Thanks!

  2. I’m glad I stumbled upon your site. 🙂 Looking forward to reading the interview!

  3. Wow, I’m so honored to be one of Shelley’s favorite authors, because I think her books totally rock!
    Camy
    (Don’t enter me for the contest, I’ve already got the books! 🙂

  4. Writing about fun and faith, that’s something a lot of people don’t think of together. It’s important to realize and share the importance of a relationship with God and Christian friends. Thanks for sharing.

  5. How neat to have a dream and to do the things to finally pursue it and see it come to fruitition finally. I hope one day to see my writing dream come true too, just like Shelley.

  6. I am ashamed to say I haven’t read and of Shelley’s books. But there is so much buzz about The Fruit of my Lipstick. I’d love to win this set! And her favorite authors are the same as mine, so I know I’ll love her work. Not to mention I have a young-adult daughter I’d love to pass it on to.
    Thanks for the opportunity!

  7. Being a YA author myself, I’ve love to read Shelley’s books. They are some of the few books I don’t have to read on my shelf.


Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

