Posted by: rcwriter | October 19, 2008

Writing MeMe


I found this at My Heart’s Dee-Light. You can follow the trail backwards from where she found it. A meme is a survey, and I thought it would be fun to post. Feel free to take this and post it on your own blog.
Do you write fiction or non-fiction? Or both?
I write both fiction and non-fiction. I like fiction better because of the creativity involved. To me, it’s a “License to Lie” (c) Rhonda Clark, 2007
Do you keep a journal or a writing notebook?

I have a file saved in my computer with writing ideas and scenes jotted down. If I’ll ever use what’s in there, I don’t know.

If you write fiction, do you know your characters’ goals, motivations, and conflicts before you start writing or is that something else you discover only after you start writing?

No, I like creating them as I go. Besides, if I did, I’d toss it aside in the first chapter.

Are you a procrastinator or does the itch to write keep at you until you sit down and work?

I really have to be inspired before I write. Yes, the “itch” does keep at me.

Do you write in short bursts of creative energy, or can you sit down and write for hours at a time?

Most of the time when I sit down to write, I get into the zone and can lose a few hours. They are productive hours though.

Are you a morning or afternoon writer?

I can do both. It really depends on how tired I am and how quiet it is. I do seem to get more work done in the morning, or early afternoon.

Do you write with music/the noise of children/in a cafe or other public setting, or do you need complete silence to concentrate?

I don’t have to have complete silence. Since moving my computer to the breakfast area I find the dryer is great white noise for me.

Computer or longhand? (or typewriter?)

My laptop is my best friend. I would be lost without it, but I have been known to jot ideas and scenes down in longhand for transcription later.

Do you know the ending before you type Chapter One? Or do you let the story evolve as you write?

I do a little of both. I have a road map of where I’m going, but I have no idea what route I’m going to take.

Does what’s selling in the market influence how and what you write?

No. I let God influence me on what I should write.

Editing/Revision – love it or hate it?

Yuck! Enough said?

Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

