Posted by: rcwriter | November 8, 2008

Faith’n Fiction Saturday


The Saturday Christian Fiction Carnival has a new name. I like the new name, it’s definitely reflects what we do here on Saturdays. Be sure it visit My Friend Amy‘s blog to find out what others have to say about this week’s question.

Today’s Question:

We all come to faith in Jesus at different times in our lives and we all come to Christian fiction at different times, too! What’s the first book in the Christian fiction genre you can remember reading? What was your impression of it? Did it make you want to read more or less?

I’ve been reading Christian fiction for almost 20 years. At that time, about the only fiction you could get were romance. The topics that are touched on today by Christian authors were not considered worthy back then. I’m glad that the Christian market has expanded it’s view so that author can show God’s glory in once taboo subjects.

Responses

  1. I’m glad about that too. I write books that are cross-over genres, pushing the envelope of the “Christian Book” genre. In fact, I haven’t found a Christian pub house yet that will accept my manuscripts because they are too “tell-it-like-it-is” for them. That’s ok with me, though. I’m not preaching to the choir. My ministry is taking the WORD out to the secular readership in the manner in which they will receive it.

    Just doing my part (smile)

    Marvin blogs at Free Spirit: http://inspiritandtruths.blogspot.com/
    Eye Twitter 2 – http://twitter.com/Paize_Fiddler

  2. Ditto! It just gets better and better.

  3. I totally agree with you! It is so much better today.

  4. I am so glad that Christian fiction has expanded as well. Considering no Christian walk is the same, why should the walk portrayed in Christian ficiton be the same. 🙂 Great answer.

  5. You are right – there are a lot more options now for Christian fiction. It is nice to have the variety.

    🙂 Wendi

  6. I’m glad Christian fiction has expanded too! I mean, we Christians are not as boring as we’re made out to be sometimes! ;o)


Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

