Posted by: rcwriter | November 15, 2008

Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday


To find out what other's have to say on this topic, visit www.myfriendamy.blogspot.com

My Friend Amy

It’s the new button beautiful?  MizB of Should Be Reading created this wonderful button for Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday. Click on the button, and that will take you to My Friend Amy’s Blog where you’ll find links to other answers. Check out My Friend Amy‘s blog for links to other answers.

Today’s topic:

The past couple of days there has been a big flare-up in the broader book blogging community regarding review policies and a blogger’s obligation to an author once they’ve received a review copy. For those of you who belong to the blogging alliance FIRST, we’ve also discussed this issue a little bit.

I decided to make today’s question about this, because I think this is an even tougher situation for Christian reviewers who review Christian books. So here goes…do you receive review copies of Christian books? If so, do you review them honestly? How do you handle it when you don’t like a book but are obligated to provide a review? Who do you see your first commitment being to in book reviewing (besides God)? Yourself? The author? Your readers? Does your review change based on the spiritual content of the book or is it solely based on technical or artistic merit? Have you ever had a negative experience with an author after giving them a negative review? (please don’t name names)

Boy, this is a tough set of questions that required me to really think. Thanks for the challenge Amy.

Yes, I do receive Christian books for review. The UPS man knows my house. When I read a book for review, my main focus is the reader. They are the ones who want to know if a book is worth their time and energy. Therefore, I must do my best to review a book honestly.

Since all readers are different and want different things from a book, I keep an objective perspective. I look for both positive and negative aspects of the book. That’s when I came up with my Favorites/Dislikes. Sometimes these dislikes are character flaws, writing flaws, or storyline flaws. Sometimes they are nothing more than a part I really liked, or didn’t like. On a side note: if I encounter a book that is contrary to God’s word, or has no redeeming value, I will either not review that book, or make it known. I can’t override God’s word to spare someone’s feelings. I’m not here to judge, but I’m obligated to follow God’s law.

Fortunately, I’ve never encountered an angry writer. I’m sure as I do more book reviews I will. I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it. 

Responses

  1. I think it is beneficial to the readers of the reviews we post to hear the good with the bad, otherwise, we aren’t being honest and they will be disappointed.

    ~ Wendi

    I’ve got mine up late . . .
    Here
    is my Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday post.

  2. Good idea with the Favorites/Dislikes addition to your reviews. That would help readers know if they might like it even though you didnt.

  3. I like your favorite and dislikes idea too. 🙂 I have gone out of my favorite genres but for the most part that is when the description already gives me an idea that I will like it.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. I like the favorite/dislikes idea. Happy FiF Day!

  5. Yes, being objective is awesome. That’s why a lot of the times I won’t write reviews on the genres I know that I don’t like. 😉


Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Nike N. Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista

Literature that reads like pulp fiction.

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

