Posted by: rcwriter | December 20, 2008

Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday: Best Books of the Year


<a href=

My Friend Amy

Hi Beachcombers,

It’s Faith ‘n Fiction time again. I have a great time posting my answers and reading others. Thanks for participating. Your comments warm my heart. I’m thrilled to interact with you here at Beach Reads and on your personal blogs. A great BIG HUG goes out to Amy for all she does to keep this up and running. Thanks bunches.

Just a note that since I know we’ll all be busy with the holidays in the next few weeks, Faith ‘n Fiction Saturdays will take a short holiday break as well. We’ll be back for more book chatter on January 3rd.

And, I won’t be able to get around to everyone this week. I’m posting this early because Saturday is a travel day. We’ll be spending the weekend doing Christmas things with family. God bless, take care, & Merry CHRISTmas.

So today’s topic, to wrap up the year…what are your favorite Christian fiction books that you read this year? You can compile your list anyway you like, by genre, ranking, or a favorite book of each month. Be as creative as you like the only requirements are that you read the books this year and that they are Christian fiction.

I’m so glad this is the question today. I’ve wanted to do this for a few weeks, but haven’t found the time. I guess now is the time.

loving-cee-cee-johnson-coverMost Controversial: Loving Cee Cee Johnson by Linda Leigh Hargrove. You can’t get more controversial than an interracial romance in the south, unless you add a reformed white activist who has a biracial son. Very interesting read.

Most Compelling: Watcher in the Woods by Robert Liparulo. Who says adults can’t enjoy a good y/a book? I was pulled in with the first sentence and wasn’t let go until the end. Passed it on to my niece to read–creeped her out so much she doesn’t want to finish it. 5 Stars (or beach shovels)

Best Light Fiction: Tie–A Mile in My Flip Flops by Melody Carlson & Sincerely, Mayla by Virginia Smith. Both would be great beach reads. They’re light, filled with laughs and very cute.

ruby-among-us_cover_email-size1Best Beach Read of All: Ruby Among Us by Tina Ann Forkner. This is Tina’s first novel and it’s wonderfully written. The characters and settings jump off the page. The storyline flows flawlessly. Of all the books I’ve read this year, this one stands out the most.

Don’t forget, if you want to join in go to My Friend Amy’s blog and leave your link, or check out some of the others who have linked there.


Responses

  1. Wow, so many books. what excellent reviews. Never even heard of some of these books before so glad I found your blog.

  2. I thought A Mile in my Flip-Flops was great, too!

  3. Loved your catagories. More to put on my TBR list!

  4. I’ve read Watcher in The Woods and A Mile in My Flip Flops. They were great books! I am finding lots of book recommendations that I need to check out.

  5. I haven’t heard of these either! Sheesh I need to get with it.

  6. I really, really want to get to the Watcher in the Woods book. I read the first one and loved it.

  7. Wow, it’s amazing how many great books are out there that I haven’t even heard of. Thanks for mentioning them.


Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

