Posted by: rcwriter | January 3, 2009

Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday–2009 Reading Plans


<a href=

Hi beach friends,

Happy 2009!

FnF Saturday is back! I’m looking forward to getting back into the swing of this Saturday ritual. Today’s question focuses on 2009.

What are your reading goals for the new year? Do you have plans to read through the Bible or complete any Bible studies? Do you hope to expand your reading horizons or reread some old favorites? Do you want to read more fiction or non-fiction? Do you want to increase the amount of Christian fiction you read? Do you have any goals for reading as it relates to your blog?

This year I have several reading plans. In fact, I just posted on one of my facebook groups that I plan to focus on Scripture more this year. I don’t know if I’ll read the entire Bible this year, but who says I have to. I’m taking it pieces at a time. I have Bible Explorer 4 on my laptop and it has different options for reading plans. The next 3 months, I’m reading the Minor Prophets. Hosea is quite interesting. 😉 From there, I’ll select another section as God leads. Within this goal I have plans to do more Scripture study. I’m already working on that goal.

I also plan to catch up on the things I missed in 2008. Thankfully, that will be completed this month. I also plan to read from my personal library. May even give an updated review of my favorite (Levi’s Will, by W Dale Cramer). There are several books that have been on my library shelves for some time that I’ve never read, believe it or not. Those are already in a bin beside my worktable. Each will have their turn.

One thing I may do is venture into other genres. I don’t read many books that aren’t Christian, nor do I read much non-fiction. This year I’m planning to stretch this. I already have Bible study and non-fiction writers on the featured author schedule. Through July I only have one slot for a featured author left, but that may be taken. Something new for 2009, I’ll be doing podcast interviews of my featured authors for The Christian Pulse. The first one will air this month. I’ll have more details later here on Beach Reads.

If you want to join in for Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday go to My Friend Amy’s blog and leave your link. Others have left their links. Visit them to see what others are doing in 2009.


Responses

  1. Enjoy stretching your reading wings!!

  2. I want to memorize more Scripture this year and my first verse is from Nahum. I always have plans to read more non-fiction, but never quite seem to get to them.

  3. I love the minor prophets. There are so many things to learn from them – reading them is like getting a closer look at God.

  4. Glad to hear you’re willing to “stretch out.” So many Christians miss a wealth of wonderful literature because if it is not a specifically “Christian” book, it is not acceptable. To me that is a sign of weakness of faith, like you;’re afraid to expose yourself to anything of the world for fear of faltering. Not saying that of you, just an observation I’ve made over many years.

    Got my “Answers to Amy” up at Free Spirit-
    http://tinyurl.com/a25ca9

  5. I would like to expand my reading into some new genres. I had never read historical Christian fiction until I got into FIRST, and I really want to move into that more. I also love speculative fiction, but until recently had not read any Christian fiction that falls into that category. I am so glad to see that happening. 🙂

    Happy New Year!

    Kelly

  6. Oh yes, stretch out! I’ve got plenty of selection on my blog. Visit the index.

    Reading Plans for the New Year


Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

