Posted by: rcwriter | February 7, 2009

Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday


<a href=

My Friend Amy

Today’s question is complex, I’m going to list Amy’s entire post–links and all.

(Amy)-Today’s Discussion: I was reading over at Novel Journey the other day (a great blog, by the way!) and this post caught my eye and just really really grabbed at the heart of what I think is the conflict around “preachy” Christian fiction. So I’m going to take this quote from the quote in the post, and ask you to share your thoughts about this topic.

“Too many Christians think we are supposed to use the arts to give people the answers. We’re not. We’re supposed to use the arts to lead them into a question.”
Barbara Nicolosi

What do you think? Do you think Christian fiction should provide answers or lead us to questions?

Life is not isn’t full of answers. It’s full of unanswered questions that lead to other unanswered questions. That’s what makes life a journey.

The books I enjoy the most reflect life. I like the unpredictability and the various pathes they follow. Reading a book that ties everything together in a sugary sweet package bores me. I want to be thrown a ‘curve ball.’ If I draw my own conclusion and it’s wrong, I’m happily surprised.

Amy, thanks for posting this. It gives me pause about my own work.

To find out what others think, visit my friend Amy’s blog.

Responses

  1. You’re so right…and it can be frustrating. 😉

  2. Good answer – I tend to agree with you on the complexity of life and what makes a good book good regardless of its genre is a realistic portrayal of that complexity. My answers are up at Free Spirit also-

    http://tinyurl.com/dzoj9y

  3. Love your header! Good answer too.

  4. Well said. I could say ditto as my answer to today’s question.

  5. There will never be perfection on this earth.

    Asked or Answered

  6. I like curve balls too! Happy Faith ‘n Fiction Day. Here’s my answer:
    http://bookcritiques.blogspot.com/2009/02/faith-n-fiction-questions-or-answers.html


Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

