Posted by: rcwriter | February 27, 2009

Fiction Friday–Kith ‘n Kin–The End


Welcome to Fiction Friday! Today, it’s Beth’s turn to host. Go to her blog, Laughing at the Days to find more great fiction stories.  Join us there for links to more fun fiction–whether you like reading fiction or writing it. We’d love to have you join us!

I know many of you have enjoyed learning about Kith, but this is the final installment. Next month will be a new series, not quite sure what, but I’ve got a couple of ideas. Thanks for joining me for Fiction Friday.

Acceptance

It’s been three months since Kith and Tarzan took their motorcycle tour of the Southwest. The family is warming up to Tarzan, although there was a setback when he gave Kith a tattoo for her birthday. It’s a beautiful rose with a rattlesnake wrapped around it, and it’s low enough that it’s visible below her Sunday skirt, and Capri pants. I don’t have to tell you how Mom and Aunt Gloria went nuts, or the fact her ladies Bible Study class thinks it’s absolutely “scandalous.” Aunt Kith just laughs and tells them that when she gets old, it won’t have far to fall.

Yes, Tarzan has really loosened up our family. Dad has about convinced Mom they should get a bike. She’s still adamant with her objection, but I think it’s an act. When Tarzan took her for a ride around the block a couple of weeks ago, she loved it. Of course she acted all nervous and scared, but her eyes were filled with intoxicating exhilaration. I’m thinking Mom is holding out for that new Mazda she’s had her eye on, once she gets that, Dad will get his hog.

My personal relationship with my mother has improved more than I could imagine. I even told her about my own tattoo. Well, she sort caught a glimpse of it one day and asked. Much to my surprise she’d known about it for years. When I told her the story, she was compassionate, not lecturing or judgmental. That’s something else she’s learned from Tarzan, she no longer judges on face value. Since she’s changed her attitude, I’ve told her about my boyfriend of six months. He comes from a background that my mother would never have approved of before Tarzan. Now that she’s met Mel, she adores him. She keeps asking when we’re getting married. Ug, mothers.

Well Mel’s at my door. He has some special birthday plans for me. I don’t have a clue what, but it may be something that will make mother very happy.

Responses

  1. I’ll be surprised if these characters don’t start demanding more stories. You have so much potential for continuing with them, and I hope to see you visit with them more in the future.

  2. I had to laugh at “Mom holding out for that new Mazda” and “then Dad will get his hog.” …and I had to smile that the logical order of these two events! 🙂 You are a skilled writer!

  3. Yes, there will be a new series for March. Not sure what, but something.

  4. WOW, what and end! I love the summary way you wrote it and I’m soooo glad that the family did accept Tarzan. I was really rooting for him! This was great, a wonderful end. Will you be starting a new serial for Friday Fiction?

  5. Just my luck, 1st time reading on your final installment. I truly enjoyed the characters with even just this read.

  6. Fun piece – LOVING these characters, and I am truly sad to hear they’re done here!


Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Nike N. Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista

Literature that reads like pulp fiction.

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

