Posted by: rcwriter | February 28, 2009

Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday


Hi all,

It’s time for Faith ‘n Fiction Saturday. I’m glad to be back participating. Today’s question is another thought provoker. Check out My Friend Amy’s blog for details of how to join, and to find out what others think.

Today’s Question: Christian fiction is growing as a market, but there are still many unexplored storylines and under-represented genres. What issues or ideas would you like to see tackled from a Christian worldview? Or, what setting would you like to see? Which genres would you like to see more books?

My Thoughts: I am so excited to see Christian fiction grow. Gone are the days where your only choice was a sappy, predictable romance. Nothing wrong with that type of storyline if you like it, but Christians live in a trouble filled world. We have problems just like non-believers, only we have a better tools to solve our problems.

My ideal Christian fiction world addresses formerly taboo subjects such as divorce, pregnancy out of wedlock, and infidelity. Plus even harder, raw subjects such as incest, rape, murder, pronography and abortion. I know there are authors out there blazing the way in these areas, but I’d like to see more authors use these as topics.

Two areas I believe are under represented are multi-racial book, and books with ethnic main characters and settings. Still we seems a bit racially divided in our reading. Thankfully, that line is being blurred by authors like Linda Leigh Hargrove.  Many African-American authors are doing a wonderful job at representing that community, but the Latin community is still lacking in positive, strong, Christian fiction role models.

NOTE: Camy Tang is a wonderful author of Asian books. Still need more of those also.

If there are any of these books out there, I’d love to read them.

Responses

  1. Hey I love this blog. I can see the time and effort put into this.. Thanks!

  2. I can’t believe I didn’t think of racial diversity!

    My post

  3. Racial diversity would be very nice. I can’t believe I didn’t think of that!

    My post

  4. We could use some novels with racially diverse characters. I hadn’t thought of that when I wrote my answer.

  5. Great post and answer. I also would like to see more ethnicity represented and multi-cultural characters in Christian fiction. My answers are up at Free Spirit also-

    http://tinyurl.com/cgvu7s

  6. Great blog and hope to have some time soon to come back and read more!

  7. I would like to see those topics being covered with positive outcomes as well. It may help those in that situation feeling they are all alone as they may not feel free to share what has happened or is happening in their lives.

  8. i totally said the same thing about needing more mulit-cultural books in my response! I think Hispanics and Asians are severely lacking in Christian fiction.

    • Camy Tang does a great job with Asian books. Sorry I forgot about you Camy.

  9. There are books out there that do deal with divorce – I just finished a book by Terri Krause, The Renewal.

    Also Francine Rivers books dealt with rape – Atonement Child. I personally loved the book. She does deal with hard issues.

    I think the reason why more books are not written on difficult issues is the fear that to do so might open up to a line of thinking that is hurtful or lead a person astray.

    I, for one, don’t enjoy reading books that make me feel icky. I can’t handle reading anything about child abuse-it hurts too much.

    I don’t go the other extreme and only read light books that never deal with the hardships of life. I want to be challenged in my spiritual walk with the Lord.

    • I guess I should have been a little more clear. I’m really wanting titles in the multi-cultural and ethnic catergories.

      Thanks a bunch Lynn for the recommendations. I understand about feeling icky and reading books. I don’t mind books that approach those topics, but I want a positive outcome. Not necessarily a happy ending, but I want to see others grow from the story.


Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Nike N. Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista

Literature that reads like pulp fiction.

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

