Posted by: rcwriter | June 15, 2009

Unsigned Hype–Rhonda’s Review


Unsigned Hype

Written by Booker T. Mattison

Product Details

  • Paperback: 207 pages
  • Publisher: Revell (July 1, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0800733800
  • ISBN-13: 978-0800733803
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.4 x 0.8 inches

Unsigned Hype is the story of Tory Tyson a.k.a. TerrorTory. He’s a teen from the NYC area that hopes to make it big in the hip-hop music industry. TerrorTory tells of his rise to stardom while facing difficult personal challenges. Tory learns God is real, and that He’s looking out for His children.

This novel is written in a fifteen year old’s slang words. Being a mom, it took me a bit to get accustomed to the verbiage, but the novel wouldn’t be the same correctly worded. You’d lose the young man’s voice, and the effect.

I really enjoyed this book. At first, I wasn’t sure if I would, but the powerful message is a great tool for reaching kids who don’t know Christ. Mr. Mattison did a fantastic job taking this suburban mom into the mind, and heart of an inner city kid.

Responses

  1. Hi Rhonda, thanks for taking the time to read Unsigned Hype. And thanks for the good review. I\’m glad you liked the story and I appreciate you spreading the word!

    Booker


Categories

Heidi Stone

Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits...

My Tropical Home

Photography, Stories, Reviews on: Parenting, Home Education, Cancer, Farming & Faith

Future.Flying.Saucers.

Bible Object Lessons for Parents and Teachers

Under Construction

Under Construction

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

crossover

crossing over in books, writing, & life

A Happy Mess

Finding joy even if it kills me

schoolboarddistrict3

District 3 Representative

Indie-Visible

Literary Justice for All

Nike N. Chillemi ~ Crime Fictionista

Literature that reads like pulp fiction.

Wilderness Journeys...Finding Your Path

Supporting Victorious Women on their Path Toward Spiritual Growth

Jerry Jenkins | Proven Writing Tips

Books, Reviews, Interviews & More

Romancing The Rock

Love. Faith. Romance. Australia.

Steven Atwood

Aspiring Author of Christian Fiction

Rhythms of Grace

A simple woman and her God.

iwriteinspiration

Inspire someone today...

Katherine Givens

Let candlelight guide you through my shadows.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

